[ RELEASED ] Menial - A Utopian Bagel Simulator

Started by MIGGO, Thu 15/09/2022 17:23:16

Previous topic - Next topic

MIGGO

Welcome!

I've been working on my latest game for a couple of months now and I feel it's time to post a little something here. Thus I proudly present: Menial - A Utopian Bagel Simulator!

A demo is available!
Here's a link for downloading the demo: https://wavey-games.itch.io/menial

This is a non-adventure game. I'd quickly describe Menial as a restaurant simulator and a visual novel, with some light point 'n' click puzzling in a comic pixel art style very much inspired by the NES.

More broadly Menial is a game about making bagels and living in the City State of Ineria, a fully automated utopia. You step into the shoes of Maria who's lifelong passion has been the (perhaps modest) art of making bagels. What does the following of your passion entail in a world of myriad possibilities? What pressures and attitudes must Maria endure from her surroundings? What is the utopian state of Ineria like and who lives there?

The gameplay is inspired by bartending simulators and visual novels like VA-11 HALL-A: Cyberpunk Bartender Action and Coffee Talk. So you'll be making and serving bagels and meeting different characters with their own stories. After work you go home and you'll have a chance to spend money in a shop or go gambling! Currently I've made a robot race minigame where you can bet on three robots who race, but I'm hoping to make a blackjack simulator available too. The shop's been created but I need to put more items in it.  :-D I'll also be adding into the mix some surreal minigames you can play by going to sleep while at home. I've made one dream thus far and it's quite horrific, but I don't want to spoil it.

Maria has to go through a morning routine each day, which involves light puzzling.

A shot from the Bagel Simulator 1.0 where you construct bagels for customers.

A guy talking about the world after having bagels.