Suggestions for templates.

Started by PPAentertainment, Sat 06/05/2023 02:51:33

Previous topic - Next topic

PPAentertainment

Hi!!
It's my first time here so I'm hoping I'm doing it correctly.
I developed several games with AGS over the years starting with Robotragedy and ending so far with Maverick Gunn and the Eye of OggĂșn and always I had to struggle a lot with the coding of the games because I had no knowledge of the subject and I still don't know. I had to keep checking the help to achieve things and I'm sure if one of you guys see the coding of my games you will laugh your hearts out.
Thats the reason I'll like to suggest adding to AGS full templates taking advantage of plugins and modules and having sets of GUIs, text boxes with cool animations, proper title rooms with a fully configured GUI to start the game, adjust options, see créditos, all the nice things that make a game look profesional.
For example a template for making Hidden Objects Puzzle Adventures or casual Adventures that comes with all the little details like an intuitive hint system, option for creating players, etcetera and a developer who has little notions of coding but has a knack for art and ideas can create a game like those and instead of unity people can choose AGS as a viable option.
Or a template for first person games like the Carol Reed or Nancy Drew series.
My suggestions are that the templates come with more flesh and an aspiring developer can start a game with not just a room and few details but with a base more solid.
AGS should be more oriented to people who love to try to make a game of their own but know no coding.
I tried to animate a GUI with Tween module and had to give up because couldnt make no head or tail of what to do.
I hope you can understand what I mean. I'm cuban and English it's not my mother tongue.
Thanks for the hard work keeping AGS alive and kicking.

Crimson Wizard

Hello!
I'd like to mentions several things.