How to: Temporarily Change Resolution for a 900*1600 image background (Room)

Started by Spocker, Sun 19/03/2023 11:17:24

Previous topic - Next topic

Spocker

Hi there!

I'm a total beginner but I have a question that needs to be solve at the beginning of a game, so it's perfect.
For my Rooms, I use background images of 1600*900 and the same resolution in the General Settings. However, I have one image background that I use differently, not as a "paysage" but as a "portrait". It's 900*1600.

Is it possible via a script command (beginner here) to temporarily change the resolution of the screen (900*1600?), and set it back to normal (1600*900) after that?
Should I put this script in the "First Time enters room" Event?

How would you recommend that I try that?

Thank you for your help!

Snarky

Hi Spocker, and welcome to AGS.

No, the game resolution is fixed, but you can achieve various effects by changing the Viewport/Camera and the room resolutions. So the question is more how you want this screen to appear in game. For example, do you want it to scroll vertically? And since the width is smaller than the width of the other rooms, would you want the sides to be filled with black, or the background to be "zoomed in" so that it fills the whole width of the screen, or what?

Spocker

Hi there!

Thanks for answering. Ok, I see for the resolution, thanks!
Here is a picture to help see the issue.

I don't need it to scroll nor zoom: it's really like any other room. But this one is litterally a closet, in which the player is "hiding". So the img background has a different size and appears vertical (900*1600).

But I would like the image to vertically fit entirely in my screen (which it doesn't on the picture I sent) - without loosing too much quality ^^'