Setting solid objects

Started by dronon, Sat 22/07/2006 06:40:58

Previous topic - Next topic

dronon

Hi; real noob here. In my first room, I've got an object called oDoorclosed that I don't want my character to be able to walk through. My character is set to be solid, but how do I set solidity on the object?

I've looked through the manual and found .Solid mentioned, but I can't seem to implement it. I assume I'm supposed to put it in the room script, but each time I try I get an error when I try a test-run.

For example, when I put: "oDoorclosed.Solid = true;" (without the quotes) in the room script, I get the error "Parse error: unexpected 'oDoorclosed'".  When I try "bool oDoorclosed.Solid = true;", I get "Variable 'oDoorclosed' is already imported".  Should I be using the (custom) properties/Edit Properties Schema window in some way instead?

monkey0506

You have to put the script inside of a function, i.e., go to the Room's interaction editor (open the room and click the 'i' button), then under "Player enters room (before fade-in)" add a new run-script action (right click on "Player enters room (...)" and choose to add a new run-script action), then put the code inside of that script.

oDoorclosed.Solid = true;

Let me know if you need more explanation.

dronon

Thanks, that worked great!

And it created a new related question. When I interact with oDoorclosed, it's removed from the room and a second object, oDooropen becomes visible using the "Object - Switch an object back on" action; it's set to invisible before then. It's supposed to be solid too, but I can't get it to happen. I tried putting the equivalent code alongside the first, but it didn't seem to have an effect.

monkey0506

You could just use the same object for both. Name it oDoor, and then change the "oDoorclosed.Solid = true;" to "oDoor.Solid = true;" and whenever you "open" the door, just change it's Graphic (i.e., oDoor.Graphic = 27;) to the appropriate sprite.